Schools Forum

15th May 2014

Revised Schools Forum Membership and Terms of Reference

This report relates to both maintained and academy schools

Recommendation

The Schools Forum is recommended to:

- 1. Note the new Warwickshire Schools Forum membership for the next 12 months following the recent election process
- 2. Note the revised Terms of Reference to take account of the agreed changes to the maintained and academy representation

1.0 Introduction

- 1.1 At the last Schools Forum meeting it was agreed to amend the membership to take account of the change in the number of pupils in academy schools.
- 1.2 An election process was undertaken and this report details the revised membership for the next 12 months and the resulting amendment to the Terms of Reference.

2.0 New Membership

2.1 It was agreed at the last Forum that the new membership would be as follows:

	Proposed Number of	Head teacher	Governor
	Schools Forum reps for		
	2014/15		
Primary Maintained	10	5	5
Secondary Maintained	2	1	1
Academy	8	4	4
	20	10	10

- 2.2 In terms of maintained representation, an election process was undertaken to determine head teachers and the Governor Steering Group elected representation from its membership
- 2.3 In terms of academy representation, an election process was undertaken at the Governor Conference and head teachers nominated themselves.

- 2.4 It was agreed that the non-school membership would not be revised for 2014 as these posts were 2 years and had been re-elected last year.
- 2.5 The table below shows the new membership of the Forum.

Primary Maintained Head Teachers		
Stella Saje	Glendale Infant	
Cathy Clarke	Cubbington Primary	
Kate Gover	Claverdon Primary	
Ian Dewes	Dunchurch Infant	
Susan Shannon	St Benedicts Catholic Primary	
Secondary Maintained Head Teacher		
Ranjit Samra	Southam College	
Academy Head Teachers		
Patsy Weighill	Bilton School	
Samantha Dennis	Newton Regis Primary	
Paul Hyde	Alcester Academy	
Philip Hamilton	Polesworth School	
Special School Head Teacher		
Judith Humphry/Chris Marshall	Welcombe Hills/Exhall Grange	
Nursery School Head Teacher		
Rachel Gillett	Kenilworth Nursery	
Primary Maintained Governors		
Latika Davis	Kingsway Primary	
Larry Granelly	Wellesbourne C of E Primary	
Philip Johnson	Whitestone Infant	
John McRoberts	Emscote and All Saints Federation	
Chris Smart	Our Lady's Catholic Primary, Princethorpe	
Secondary Maintained Governor		
Ramesh Srivastava	Avon Valley School	
Academy Coverners		
Academy Governors Keir Regument	Nicholas Chamberlains	
Keir Beaumont	Nicholas Chamberlaine	
David Kelham	Myton School	
Pete Reaney	Rugby High School	
Diana Turner	Bilton School	
Non School Members		
Sybil Hanson	Church of England Diocese	
Oybii Harison Ondroi of England Diocese		

Margaret Buck	Catholic Church Schools
	Early Years (Private, Volunary and
Steve Dyke	Independent)
Lisa Capper	14-19 partnership
Andy Summers	Teachers Union

- 2.6 The new Chair will be elected at the October meeting.
- 2.7 Each new member has been issued with the latest Department for Education Schools Forum Operational Guidance and an outline of the key areas of work for the Forum in the next 12 months.
- 2.8 Attached at Appendix A is the revised Terms of Reference which is now reflects the revised membership structure.

	Name	Contact Details
Report Author(s)	Sara Haslam	sarahaslam@warwickshire.gov.uk
Head of Service	Nigel Minns and John Betts	nigelminns@warwickshire.gov.uk johnbetts@warwickshire.gov.uk
Strategic Director	Wendy Fabbro	wendyfabbro@warwickshire.gov.uk
Portfolio Holder	Cllr Heather Timms	cllrtimms@warwickshire.gov.uk